A new weight class!

The NCAA Division II Life In The Balance mandated holiday break doesn’t just benefit student-athletes. It’s given my wife and I the chance to take full advantage of Washburn University’s 12-day holiday break. Along with that I’m also abstaining from blogging since my blog is related to my work.

I did want to take a minute, however, to write about something very exciting that happened this morning, fittingly, on New Year’s Day. I stepped on the Wii Fit board for a weight check and I have officially moved from obese to overweight! I’m 63 pounds less than I was last February and I actually lost seven pounds over the holidays from Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day! My family and I have been on our whole foods, plant-based diet since May 20 after watching Forks Over Knives and the results to my health have been amazing. It’s so much more than just about losing weight. It’s about developing a healthy lifestyle that will make good nutrition a key part of our lives.

I made it through the fall and early winter sports seasons and successfully kept up my plant-based diet as a sports information director in the fast-paced world of college athletics. Meals in the press box were left for the others and ordering food while on the road with my teams was difficult and sometimes impossible. Many times I had to bring my own meals or go off on my own to find a place where I could eat and not break my diet. I knew it would be hard, but I stayed committed.

The rest of the winter and the spring seasons will be interesting. With basketball now playing conference doubleheaders, I’ll be on the road with our radio crew to exciting places around Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Oklahoma. A few pieces of fruit and some trailmix will keep me full during the day trips while others enjoy pizza in the press box and fast food on the way home. A year ago at this time, I was eating all that food with little regard to my health. I’m very glad I’ve been able to keep up this lifestyle change with my job.

Just like last year, I won’t set any resolutions. It takes more than just a date on the calendar to really want to make a change. I hope, though, that this time next year I’ve reached my ideal weight and I’m continuing to eat and live in the most healthy way possible.

Leave a Reply

