How to pack plant-based foods for road trips

While the rest of the working media is enjoying the press box spread of pizzas, subs or whatever the marketing department could work out a deal on, I’ve found myself planning ahead to find something to nourish me between games or on the way home from a doubleheader. Eating a whole food, plant-based diet based on the Engine 2 Diet and Forks Over Knives takes extra work, especially when on the road.

I’ve been dedicated to this major lifestyle change since May and I’ve lost 60 pounds since then and moved my cholesterol well into the healthy range.  I’m not going to let the road trips I have to go on for work get in my way of making sure every thing I eat is as nutrient-dense as it possibly can be.

While a container of trail mix and a few pieces of fruit may be enough for a day trip, my longer trips require some extra thinking and often, extra luggage space.

My wife and I brought a hot plate, a cooking pot, serving dishes and utensils on our last trip to Las Vegas so we could make oatmeal, rice and soups to beat Vegas’ high prices and limited healthy food options. For my last work trip to Vegas, I brought the following items to get me through:

  • Homemade whole grain bread (I’d give you the recipe, but I haven’t perfected it yet…)
  • Whole grain crackers
  • A bag of fruit (oranges, apples and clementines)
  • Homemade trail mix (pumpkin seeds, raisins, dried apples, almonds, sunflower seeds, etc…)
  • A bag of oranges I rescued from the team bus before we got on our airplane. It otherwise would have been left behind.

I was lucky enough to have my breakfast buffet comped every morning and I enjoyed oatmeal, fresh fruit, nuts and veggies (omelet toppings…). I also sought out ethnic restaurants because they usually will offer meat-free options like tofu or extra veggies.

With a little work and some planning ahead, I’ve managed to make it through the first half of this athletic season eating plant-based!

Leave a Reply

