Quinoa and Kale Salad

_DSC0793I just got done making a quick lunch that will provide leftovers for me, my wife and son for a few days. It was very quick and very tasty. Best of all, it’s extremely healthy and packed full of tons of micronutrients we all need to make staples in our diets.

I took a sick day today to stay home with our son who had been put on a 24-hour quarantine from his daycare due to a fever yesterday morning. He’s had a cough and runny nose, so I figured a day to rest and play with Daddy would be good for him.

I put him down for a nap this morning and he managed to sleep or quietly play in his crib long enough for me to rest, cook lunch and now start this entry. I decided to get rid of a few leaves of kale in my fridge and try my maiden cooking of quinoa, both at the same time. I wanted to keep the kale raw since the last two days we’ve been eating curried beans with cooked kale.

Quinoa is a great food source for anyone, especially those on a plant-based diet like the Engine 2 Diet. It is a complete protein, giving you a great source of protein without the added bad things like excess saturated fat and dietary cholesterol that animal proteins give you. It also provides a number of other vitamins and minerals.

Kale needs no explaining as its health benefits are numerous. Kale

As the quinoa cooked, I chopped up the kale, a green pepper and an apple. I chopped them all coarsely, but as fine as I dared to with my limited chopping abilities. I wanted the juices of each plant to be able to soak into the finished salad so I wouldn’t have to add any sort of dressing.

The result was a delicious and flavorful meal that filled me up with just one bowl. The recipe is below.

Quinoa and kale salad with peppers and apples

Ingredients:

1.5 cups quinoa
3 cups water
4 kale leaves pulled from stem and chopped
1 green, yellow, red or orange bell pepper chopped
1 apple chopped
Garlic powder and pepper to taste
1/2 cup garbanzo beans (optional)

_DSC0790Cook the quinoa and water over medium heat until all water is absorbed, about 15 minutes. While that is cooking, chop the veggies and apple. Take the cooked quinoa off the heat and allow to sit for five minutes to cool just enough to not cook the veggies and apple. Stir the veggies, apple and garbanzo beans into the quinoa and add garlic and pepper to your liking.

Serve it warm and then refrigerate the rest and serve it cold. This recipe made a ton and will provide us _DSC0796plenty of leftovers. I only used garbanzo beans because a handful of them were sitting in my fridge and I needed a use for them.

Leave a Reply

