Those tempting smells and sights we all face when eating healthy

A plant-based pizza I made with seitan peperoni, whole wheat crust and nutritional yeast flake cheese. It was good, but I've excepted that I'll never replicate the real flavor of cheese. I can only hope to forget cheese's flavor.

A plant-based pizza I made with seitan peperoni, whole wheat crust and nutritional yeast flake cheese. It was good, but I’ve accepted that I’ll never replicate the real flavor of cheese. I can only hope to forget cheese’s flavor in the coming years.

Getting food is no longer a problem for the general population, especially if you are able to push aside healthy eating. When going on the road, a quick and cheap option is usually the one people go with to keep them moving.

Last week I rode on the bus with our men’s and women’s basketball teams to a doubleheader about three hours away. I work in college athletics and my job keeps me in the office for about 40 hours a week and working games for a number of other hours throughout the week, often on the road.

Just like anyone else, college athletes are usually looking for quick and cheap calories. When the coaches provide the food, they usually don’t complain about where it comes from. Since switching to a plant-based, whole food diet last May, I’ve had to pack in my own food when going on road trips.

Usually I ride a company car with a couple other people. Being on the team bus, I had no choice but to sit there last week and watch them eat. On the ride out there were donuts (their way of carbing up?) and on the way back, each player and coach got their own large pizza delivered right to the bus as we left the arena. I passed up a few offers to share in their pies but the smells and sights took me back to when I too would enjoy the convenience of quick and dense calories. Pizza is one of those things that’s hard to duplicate in the plant-based world and I guess last week helped me accept that.

I brought fruit and trail mix for myself and had a salad at the sandwich shop where we stopped for our pregame meal. Since going plant-based, I haven’t splurged at all and I wasn’t about to give in that day.

Is it hard for you to turn down people offering you food, especially when you’re with a big group? What are your secrets to keeping up your diet when traveling?

One comment

  1. Steve Day · · Reply

    I enjoyed your Herbie of the Week article. My biggest frustration is not with traveling but with catered events. There are many meal-centered events that provide a single restaurant style entree totally inappropriate for a healthy lifestyle. So far, I have just been refusing to go to them but I miss the socializing that they offer. I am just too cheap to pay for their steaks when even the meager serving of veggies is coated with butter and unfit to eat.

    I found a Lions Club to join that meets for breakfast and always offers oatmeal as a breakfast choice. I have no problem watching the others shovel down the sausages, eggs, biscuits and gravy as their weight status provides me with instant incentive to avoid that stuff. I only wish enough other people woke up to the plant food message so that we could demand a healthy plant based option at catered events.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

